Olmypic squad to compete at Islamic Solidarity Games announced

Palestine’s Olympic team’s preparations have ramped up with kick off to the 4th Islamic Solidarity Games fast approaching. The unofficial tournament won’t headline any football fan’s calendars but will serve as essential preparation for an Olympic team looking to qualify for their first ever U23 AFC Championship in July.

Olympic Team manager Ayman Sandouqa has revealed his final squad which will travel to Baku to participate in the tournament that will run from May 8th to May 21st.

In the last edition, Palestine lost to eventual champions Morocco 3-1 and beat eventual runners up Indonesia, 2-1. The combination of results saw all teams even on three points and Palestine were eliminated by goal difference. It was an improvement on their inaugural performance which saw Palestine lose all three games to Algeria, Saudi Arabia, and Yemen respectively.

This year Palestine will participate alongside seven other teams- they have been grouped alongside Turkey, Algeria, and Oman.

Palestine has included overage players in the squad with goalkeeper Ghanem Mahajneh (26) chief amongst them.

Full Squad Below…

GK Naim Abu Aker Ahli Al-Khaleel 01/19/1995
GK Ghanem Mahajneh Shabab Al-Khaleel 04/20/1991
GK Ramzi Al-Fakhuri Thaqafi Tulkarem 02/18/1996
DF Hazem Abdullah Taraji Wadi Al-Nes 02/21/1996
DF Yousef Al-Ashab Shabab Al-Khaleel 02/10/1995
DF Bahaa Wridat Shabab Al-Dhahrieh 02/17/1997
DF Wael Shaarawi Shabab Al-Khaleel 04/09/1995
DF Ahmed Zuryaqi Merkaz Asker
DF Alaa Haboos Eslah Al-Burj (LIB)
DF Mohammed Saleh Ahli Al-Khaleel 07/18/1993
DF Yazan Oweiwi Taraji Wadi Al-Nes 06/06/1994
DF Ahmed Al-Sayed Hilal Al-Quds
MF Omar Sandouqa Al-Bireh 06/22/1996
MF Mohanad Fannoun Shabab Al-Khaleel 09/18/1995
MF Oday Al-Dabbagh Hilal Al-Quds 12/03/1998
MF Mahmoud Abu Warda Merkaz Balata 05/31/1995
MF Mohammed Yameen Thaqafi Tulkarem 09/19/1994
MF Abdullah Abu Muhsen Tubas
MF Islam Batran Wadi Degla (EGY) 10/01/1994
MF Tamer Tatur Shabab Al-Khaleel 02/03/1988
FW Mahmoud Wadi Ittihad Khan Younes 12/18/1994
FW Mohammed Maraaba Thaqafi Tulkarem 03/11/1994
FW Mohammed Obeid Hilal Al-Quds 09/30/1998

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *